MJJ saved my life as a child

NoLongerInTheCloset88

Proud Member
Hello everyone!
This is my first time posting here but I have been a long time MJJ fan since I was a kid. I apologize that this is going to be long, but I would like to think it's worth it.

I feel like this might be a good opportunity to explain how Michael saved my life as a child and I really wish I had had the opportunity to tell him. I had always dreamed of being one of his fans fainting at his concerts, of being able to tell him my story and share what an impact his life had on mine. I fantasized about what it would feel like to be so absolutely understood by someone else.

You see, I grew up in a cult. Without getting too into the religious side of things, my extremely devout parents decided the best course of action for me as a small child was to keep me from going to public school. Instead, they would homeschool me. What ended up happening wasn't that my mother spent her time teaching me while my father worked to provide. In fact, I was expected to sit in my dimly lit room, all by myself, and find the gumption to teach myself everything I needed to know to get me to high school. I was undiagnosed neurodivergent (autistic, bipolar, CPTSD, anxiety) and I was expected to hide away in my room all day and in the depths of quiet, read from large religious textbooks. My mother was too distracted taking care of other things and my father was too busy working two jobs just to keep the family afloat amidst the struggles of a tight income.