Windows Vista - Is it getting any better now with Service Pack 2?

Nar

Proud Member
I just installed Windows Vista with SP2 for the first time on my desktop a couple of days ago. I did it only to test my machine out with it. I had it installed on my laptop when I bought it and I didn't like it because it was slow and had a lot of bugs. At that time Microsoft only had SP1 available.

I've been an XP Pro user since it came out and it was really hard adjusting to Vista's new look and feel. But on my desktop quite surprisingly, Windows Vista runs really well and fast. (when you have a decent processor and at the very least 3GB of ram).

My current set up is: Asus Rampage Formula mother board, 4GB DDR2 ram by Kingston, Intel Core 2 duo 3.3Ghz processor slightly overclocked at 3.8ghz, Creative SB 24bit audio card and an Nvidia 9600 GSO 1Gb video card.

Photoshop CS2 loads up fast as well as all my other processor intensive softwares and it's been fairly stable too.
After each installation of software, I also used a 3rd party defragmentor and disk space consolidator software to defrag my pc. And it made a huge difference! Like the load times and all are much quicker and smoother.

The only problems I've encountered was with my audio card software drivers. It was a pain and I had to obtain a 3rd party audio driver to recognize my 5.1 speaker set up. But its working great now. And my Intuos Wacom tablet. It's like 10 years old and uses a serial bus. Vista 32 bit OS does support the serial model but only if its connected directly through the motherboard.
I had to buy a serial pci motherboard adapter this weekend. Because Vista doesn't support USB to Serial adapters.

Other than that, I also had to obtain Vista versions of the drivers needed to run my peripherals like printer, scanner, etc.
But all in all, so far so good. I might even keep Vista on my machine.