SAT's: Do they really matter?

Courtney

Proud Member
I'll be a senior in the fall and I just got my second round of SAT's results. I did worse than the first time. :( I'm totally bummed right now. My first scores in reading and writing were great but my math score was so low that I can't even reach 1000 with reading and math together. I'm just not a math person at all. I can do the basic stuff and some Algebra, but anything beyond that, forget it. The second time I did worse in both sections. I feel like a third time would be useless.

I don't understand why I can't do well on this test. I'm a straight A student in honors and AP classes (I'm not bragging :( ). But I can't take this stupid aptitude test! What is wrong here? It's so frustrating. I feel like I wasted my money completely because this test proves nothing. What do I work so hard for in school if this test is the only thing that matters? I took ACT's as well, so I'm hoping they went a little better. Thankfully the schools I'm apply to will accept either or.

Curious for those who have gone or are in college right now, how important were your SAT (or ACT) scores during the admissions process? Were they a deciding factor if you had a great transcript (grades, volunteer, activities)? Were they a key component as to what kind of classes you would be placed in your freshman year of college (this, I'm hoping not)?

Also, any personal opinions on the SAT's? Thumbs up or thumbs down? I'm going with thumbs down. I think it's all about knowing HOW to take the test. Not about having knowledge.