My visit to Drexel's Audio Archives [REPOST FROM NEWS/DISCUSSION THREAD]

SeriousFX

Proud Member
[taken from a post made in a thread about Michael Jackson's unreleased music. I moved it here as to not totally derail the topic]

Way back in April of this year, I managed to get in touch with archive director Toby Seay via email and talked about the possibility of visiting Drexel's vault of Sigma Sound tapes. At first I was shocked, because I assumed the vault was closed off to anyone who wasn't some kind of professional archivist/mixer (I'm a complete novice at mixing music), but after a while I eventually managed to schedule a visit for May 17th. My mom and sisters tagged along, mainly as a way to destress them after a harsh college semester.

After a two-hour drive to Philly, I arrived at Drexel, where I met Mr. Seay himself. He ushered us into the archive, where I saw tons of tapes strewn across many shelves. I was already studying what little pictures and videos we had of the room, but nothing could've prepared me for seeing these tapes up-close and personal.

There were tons of tapes, all ordered in the year, day, and month they were recorded. Entire albums worth of tapes were stacked next to each other, some released (Rena Scott, Collins and Collins, First Choice) and some unreleased (Pockets, Patrice Hawthorne). There were even masters for obscure singles (such as The Angels and Experience Unlimited), but the real meat and potatoes for the vault were the many, many tapes containing completely unreleased tracks. Some were from people we all knew, such as David Bowie and Stevie Wonder, but more than often not they were from complete unknowns (the attempted comeback single by prog-rock group Good God, some tracks by a 90s group named Life, etc.).