Japan / Fans / Culture /How to behave

DancingToTheEternity

Proud Member
Hello dear Friends,

I will be going to Japan to live there for 6 months so i need a bit help from you.

Please could you tell me / give me link/ video picture or anything that can help me there.

Ill be in Nagasaki.

So how should i eat , how to say hello to somebody , do i need to bow is there something that i shouldn't do or should do ....etc

Please help me in this!

Much LOVE,
Boris

Hello there DancingToTheEternity :D

I have been studying Japanese culture for about 4-5 years now..I've done plenty of reading online and as well in books..I have one book, that came out 7 year ago, in particular that has been such a great insight to Japanese culture and I always go back onto it if I need any information...I'll type out some things in this great book.

"Customs and etiquette

However Westernized modern Japan may appear, traditional etiquette continues to be very important. Most Japanese expect that, as a visitor, you will not understand the complexities of their social behavior, and that you will behave according to your Western rules. However, evidence of a basic understanding of a Japanese values and a respect for them will certainly be appreciated, enjoyed, and acknowledged by the people you meet.

Bowing

The Japanese bow a lot to each other on meeting or departing. The depth and frequency of the bows depends on the status of the people involved. To be on the safe side, imitate any bows you receive. Hold both arms straight and bow with the upper body. Shaking hands is an alternative way of introducing yourself and is still a novelty to the Japanese. However a strong shake is not needed and would not be understand."

The majority of the restaurants will have a knife and fork to eat, as well as take credit cards, this is more true for more of the modern restaurants of course..So be sure