I want to get my teaching certificate, but do classes online...

Dorothy_Marie

Proud Member
Hey everyone,
I have been thinking about getting my teaching certificate (i have an associate's degree in child development) but I don't want to go back into a classroom but I want to try to do classes online.Does anyone have any advice about online classes like from pheonix or some other major "universaty" online? Has anyone done something like this before? Please give me some suggestions. Thanks.

I can only speak about south florida and for us online courses are accepted because then certain tests must be taken and passed to get the certificate.Our state gives a list of universities which includes virtual classes so I am sure your certification department can help you. They usually have an online site.

I guess I should have said I am from the US and am speaking about sites that are from the US only. I really don't have time to go through a regular universaty since I am a full time teacher and mother. I just thought sites like kaplan and phoneix would be a better option for me.

Phoenix is accepted and accredited for their education classes.
Some universities and colleges offer online classes as well and you can get financial aide and then if you teach in certain schools the government wipes the tab away.

to be a teacher you have to have at least a Master's degree...a bachelor's won't do anymore..... so you need to do at least 3 years of classes still....2 for Bachelor's and 1 (accelerated) for masters

as for online/offline - Most universities offer online classes...I would say almost all of them do.... so it really doesn't matter where you go to school.

It doesn't have to be Kaplan or some other online site....just walk into any university and check out their online courses...

I got my Bachelor's in 3 years time because I studied during summer...so its really not a long process if you commit to it