How much experience do you need on an instrument to be able to write a pop song?

analogue

Proud Member
Some people say that you need years and years of practice to be able to write your own music on an instrument but then other people say that after only a few months of practice you can write a pop song

So how much experince do you need to be able to write music for a pop song on an instrument?

Thanks alot

Some songwriters don't play an instrument at all and hum the parts to musicians or an arranger to write out as sheet music. In some cases one person writes lyrics (Bernie Taupin) and the other writes the music (Elton John).

Some songwriters don't play an instrument at all and hum the parts to musicians or an arranger to write out as sheet music. In some cases one person writes lyrics (Bernie Taupin) and the other writes the music (Elton John).

Pretty much sums it up really i am a pro Piano player and can play in different styles but if you're looking to make it big in Music i suggest you keep an open mind and grab what ever opportunity you can :)

I have wrote songs by singing the music parts. I'll sing the guitar parts, the keyboard parts, the bass parts etc but then my friend who has been playing piano for years really looks down on my method and says that i'm not a real songwriter because he says that real songwriters play instruments

but seeing the responses in this thread is starting to make me think that my friend is talking out of his ass

I've been writing music for about 15 years and when I started I didn't play an instrument well, although I picked up piano and guitar along the way as tools to show others what was going on in my head! I believe music theory is most important in order to be able to compose, though you can gain that education through formal training OR from being exposed to music and making your own connections about how it's constructed.