Can you read sheet music?

Can you read sheet music?

• yes

Votes: 28 66.7%
  • no

Votes: 14 33.3%

• Total voters
No, I never took music class anyways, they're hard for me to understand.

I'm no expert at it, but I can read the notes. I was in Choir all through high school and we learned some there. Then I took piano lessons for a couple of years as an adult and I learned quite a bit more.

yes, I play a few instruments and I think it's much easier to learn an instrument if you can read music

This post kinda reminded me that ridiculous question lawyers asked Michael in the Dangerous Deposition 1994.
L-"Can you read sheet music Mr. Jackson?

M-"No, I don't. I don't think it's necessary"

:lol:

Neither do I!

No, but i wished i had! They are hard to learn if you don't really have a "musical ear", but for those who have it, i think that is very simple!

If people were introduced to sheet music without fear and "oh Gooood, this is sooooo difficult", they would learn it a lot faster.

I learned it as a child maybe 2 years after learning to read, it's not rocket science. If you play an instrument, it can be introduced so naturally that it will seem to you as logical and second nature after a while if done right.

They should have asked him in that deposition if he can WRITE sheet music, ie., "are you capable of correctly writing down what you hear in your head"- 'cause that's an entirely different league again from being able to read sheet music. In his case he found amazing ways to bring his music into the world without being able to- I'm still blown away how did that.

Now imagine how it would be if he would have written down the stuff he heard in his head- like the classical stuff, when he relied on someone to play if for him.

I still can't get over the fact that we lost him when he still had so much art coming to him- and us. :no: (next to the fact that he loses out on being next to his children physically to see them grow up, boo)