Big Brothers Big Sisters

strawberrypie999

Proud Member
Does anyone here volunteer for the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization??

I am a Lunch Buddy, which means that I basically pick 1 day a week and go in and eat lunch with my 'Little' Sister. We play games, work on home work, do crafts, etc.

My first year I was a Freshman in college and my Little Sister was a girl who was blind, and one of 8 children in her family. Her mother and father were divorced and she didn't know her real dad. Her step-dad and mother neglected her. All of her other siblings could do things for themselves such as bath themselves, make food, clean their clothes, etc. but since she was blind she was at a disadvantage. She used to tell me her laundry hardly ever got washed, she never got breakfast because no one would make it for her, and she struggled with bathing because she had to do it by herself many times.

She had never been given a marker to color with, play doh to sculpt, or scissors to cut with. We created clay baskets for her mother, she drew me pictures of what she thought houses and flowers looked like (which are hanging in my room) and she strung beads on to a necklace that she still wears. All things that she had never done before because no one thought she was capable.

My heart was absolutely broken for her. She had never received an Easter basket, a Christmas gift, or a Birthday gift before in her life and she was 10 years old! I gave her the biggest Easter basket I have ever personally seen, made a huge deal about her Birthday, and I would have made an even bigger deal about Christmas but we were not matched over this holiday =[

I moved back home for the summer and the next school year I was unable to volunteer the first semester. She was rematched with someone else, and I was matched up with a new girl named Paige.