American Welfare System - Social Workers needed

Minnie

Proud Member
Hey guys,

I'm studying social science and I have an upcoming exam about social exclusion. Basically I need your help!

Can someone explain the difference between General Relief, which I understand to be a loan, and being on welfare?
If you lose your job in the US, are there any public unemployment assistance - or is it all private insurances?

What are the rules regarding medicaid? How much does it actually cover, and WHO does it cover?

I need to do a comparativ analysis of Denmark and the US, and try to make the point that the US with Obama is moving in the opposite direction of Denmark - we're kinda moving towards the social system of each other.

Anyone here able to answer these questions it would be GREATLY appreciated :-D

Hmm, don't know much bout it but the brother in law is on unemployment. He has to attend meetings that teach him how to write resumes and how to present yourself at interviews. In additon he has to show his weekly attempts to find a job in order to stay on unemployment. They also offer job assistance in finding new jobs.

Welfare consists of a large scope of different levels and aspects. Everything from state health insurance to food checks and housing assistance. There's so many different programs.

Don't know much about the rest. Hope that helps.

Good health is important to everyone. If you can't afford to pay for medical care right now, Medicaid can make it possible for you to get the care that you need so that you can get healthy – and stay healthy.